Clinometer/Compass Meter Option

Discussion in '90-Series Tech' started by mot, Dec 29, 2006.

  1. expat42451

    expat42451

    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2012
    mot

    Thanks very much anyway.

    Regards

    Expat42451
     
  2. Darth

    Darth

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2013
    Location:
    Wisbech UK
    Accessory Meter

    Bumping this thread back to life! :bounce:

    I've been searching for the colour version of the Accessory Meter (Compass/Inclinometer/Temp Guage, et al) in the UK for the past 4 months to no avail. The current unit in my LC has gone kaput, the compass and inclinometer windows started to flash and are now dead, the graph window still works though (but not the small one below it).

    I've also had a couple of breaker yards scamming me, money taken but no item delivered, all monies now returned.

    Has anyone an idea of where I can get one or at least recommend a decent breaker yard that is legit and not into scamming potential customers?

    Many thanks in advance.

    Dave

    :cheers:
     
  3. sved

    sved

    Messages:
    551
    Likes Received:
    68
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2012
    Location:
    Sweden
  4. Tentoyo

    Tentoyo

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2015
    Location:
    Kevelaer
    Is there anybody interested in a clinometer? I have one of the colored version for sale with the temp sensor included. I am located in Germany. Just drop me a message!
     
  5. vdsaga

    vdsaga

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2015
    Location:
    london
    The RZJ90s like mine do have the wiring for the temp sensor. The sensor plug sits behind the left side headlight. I just tested mine by plugging it, I have not mounted it on the dash yet, but it does work.
     
  6. rafo

    rafo

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2015
    Hi Guys, After a long search i found the accessory meter (like the one below) and plan on installing it (A 1999 TLC Prado 90 STD) Looking for advice on the following:

    1. Didn't yet get the Ambient Temperature Sensor, should anyone have one laying around - i'll be grateful to get it or at least see a picture of it.

    2. Is the Ambient Temperature Sensor connected to the gauge via the connector or does it have a separate connection point?

    3. In the manuals i have learned about 3 more sensors the accessory meter is connected to: Baro Sensor, Clino sensor and Magnet Field Sensor. Are they built in the accessory meter or are they separate parts?

    4. Looking at the attached PDF one can see that the connector mainly handles power supply - where does the information come from? (barometer, hight, speed ETC)

    5. Any other advise will be of-course highly appreciated.

    Thanks

    Wiring Diagram

    [​IMG]
     

    Attached Files:

  7. Tentoyo

    Tentoyo

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2015
    Location:
    Kevelaer
    Does your 90 has the gauge connector behind the glovebox? Then it should have the connector for the temperature sensor too. Search for it below the left front light. It has two blue/striped wires. There goes the sensor. The other features don't need extra sensors.

    Greetings
     
    rafo likes this.
  8. rafo

    rafo

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2015
    Thanks!
    Well OK, i have the connector behind the glovebox, but can't check on the temperature sensor as the car is in the shop (new Starter...) Once it's out i'll find out. Thank you so much!
     
  9. busmup808

    busmup808

    Messages:
    2,051
    Likes Received:
    22
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Location:
    HI 2 WA
    Bringing it back to life. I obtained a unit from New Zealand and wired everything up via this thread, but do not know how to work this unit. Calling all Prado owners with this unit, PLEASE HELP ME! I just need to know how to operate this unit to make it work. Mahaloz in advance and Aloha from WA!
     
  10. Ranvier1

    Ranvier1

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2017
    Location:
    85331
    Just found this thread and registered as I have one of these for sale. I purchased used but never installed as the truck is long gone. It is the bottom pic, grey model.
     
  11. Ranvier1

    Ranvier1

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2017
    Location:
    85331
    [​IMG][/URL][/IMG] [​IMG][/URL][/IMG] [​IMG]
     
  12. Ranvier1

    Ranvier1

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2017
    Location:
    85331
    [​IMG]
     
    Faid likes this.
  13. Ranvier1

    Ranvier1

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2017
    Location:
    85331
    [​IMG]
     
    Faid likes this.
  14. 1973Guppie

    1973Guppie Supporting Vendor SILVER Star

    Messages:
    9,847
    Media:
    31
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    1,310
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2003
    Location:
    "the whale's vagina", CA
    It's a long shot but does anyone know of an altimeter that would fit in the toyota switch blank spot? I went with a gentex rear view mirror which has the temp and compass, works great but would like to have an altimeter somewhere on the dash as well.
     
  15. Faid

    Faid

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2017
    Location:
    Indonesia
    U need that part altimeter and can ship.indonesia ?
     
  16. Faid

    Faid

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2017
    Location:
    Indonesia
    Ineed
     
  17. izumi

    izumi

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 9, 2017
    Location:
    USA
    interesting, thanks
     
  18. jmcclusk

    jmcclusk

    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    20
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2011
    Location:
    Portland OR
    Reviving this old thread, but maybe someone can explain to me why there is three + leads (1,2,4) and Two Grounds (3,8) ? I'm putting one of these in my 60 so what does pin 7, Combination Meter hook up to? Thanks!
     
  19. Gianni

    Gianni

    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    16
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2015
    Location:
    The OC, Socal
    @jmcclusk, I have a 60 series also. Were you able to successfully install in your 60?
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.