1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Brake light HELP!

Discussion in '40- & 55-Series Tech' started by Borrego, Aug 10, 2017.

  1. Borrego

    Borrego

    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    14
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2015
    Location:
    Coeur d' Alene, ID
    I have a 71 FJ40 (built in Sept 1970). All of a sudden my brake lights went out. The running lights and turn signals work. The hazard lights have never worked, and now the brake lights don't work.

    I suspect it's the brake light switch. I'm newer to electrical and may need help understanding the schematic but I downloaded the wiring diagram posted by Coolerman, and noticed it shows only 2 wires coming out of the brake light switch, a RW and a GW. The RW is going to the 20amp fuse, and the GW is going to the turn signal switch. When I look at my brake light switch, it has 4 wires (2 RW and 2 GW). And neither of them go directly to the fuse block or the turn signal switch. Instead, the brake light switch plugs into 6 wires (a multitude of GW and GY wires). It looks like this is stock, but it doesn't align with the schematic. Can anyone please help me understand what wire is what, because I can't figure it out with the schematic.

    Thanks!
     
  2. shawnfj40

    shawnfj40

    Messages:
    1,989
    Media:
    6
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    585
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2013
    Location:
    Naples Florida
    I assume you have checked the bulbs? The next step is the fuse. Then check for power at the switch. Then check switch operation (see if it works). You are going to have power on at least one of the wires on the switch at rest, it should increase to more than one when the pedal is depressed. If they just stopped working all of the sudden its probably a fuse or bulb issue.
     
  3. Borrego

    Borrego

    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    14
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2015
    Location:
    Coeur d' Alene, ID
    Checked the fuse, it's good. Checked the bulbs, both filaments work. (Blinker works and running lights work). Checked grounds at the lights, they are good. It's just the brake lights that don't work. I bought a new brake switch and still nothing. I pulled the hazard switch and checked all the solders, and they look clean as a whistle. (however, my hazard lights don't work, and never have since I've owned it, even when the brake lights DID work, the hazards did not. I checked the flasher and believe it works because the turn signals work. The turn signal was all cut up by a PO, but all the connections look solid.

    What else should I check? It's been months and I still don't have brake lights. I only drive it during the day now, and turn the running lights on every time I come to a stop so it looks like I have brake lights. LOL. I want this fixed!!! Is there a way to bypass all the other switches and go directly to the brake lights just to test things?

    Also, the wiring schematic for a 71 I pulled from @Coolerman only shows 2 wires for the brake switch. Mine has 4 wires on the male end factory plug and 6 wires on the female end of the plug. It looks factory. Does anyone have the correct schematic for a 9/71 that shows this?

    Any and all help is much appreciated. Even a quick fix just so I can drive it through the summer would be helpful. I'm at a loss and ready to throw in the towel and try to rewire the whole thing, but would prefer to wait until fall/winter to do so.

    Thanks
    Eric
     
    Last edited: May 16, 2018 at 10:09 AM
  4. 73FJ40

    73FJ40 After another night of rust removal! SILVER Star

    Messages:
    749
    Media:
    4
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    478
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Location:
    Western Massachusetts
    I think you may need a later model schematic. Also note that Toyota wiring diagrams are notorious for their 'lack of accuracy'. In some instances, there are major differences for the same model year between USA market and world market FJ40's.

    Note that the brake switch you describe, 2 GW, 2 RW is consistent with the brake switch used from 7007 (July '70) to 7509.

    upload_2017-8-11_11-24-40.png

    You may want to consider using a later year wiring diagram, like this one:

    http://www.globalsoftware-inc.com/coolerman/fj40/schematics/FJ40/1974FJ40/HaynesFJ401974.jpg
     
    Last edited: Aug 11, 2017
    shawnfj40 likes this.
  5. shawnfj40

    shawnfj40

    Messages:
    1,989
    Media:
    6
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    585
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2013
    Location:
    Naples Florida
    The hazard switch not working is a concern as well. Almost everything in your lights routes through that switch. they are notorious for the contacts getting corroded and not making contact. They are pretty simple to clean and I think coolerman has a how to on it. I know someone did a nice writeup on it. Like was said before if you haven't had the rig since new its hard to say if it even has the original wiring harness in it. I have changed out a few just because they were so chopped up by PO that it made better sense to replace than to repair them. Odds are you have a 40 harness. You just need to find the right year it is.
     
  6. espensen

    espensen SILVER Star

    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2017
    Location:
    Skien, Norway
    This is the plug the brake switch connects to. The upper two connections are for the brake lights, the two below are for the brake warning light. You should have power on the upper left pin. If you have, you can try to connect the two upper pins together, if the brakelights don't lights then, you have another problem after that... Maybe your turn switch


    DSCF5154[1].JPG
    Maybe this is diagram is better? 343ElectricalWiringDiagramFJ40(L)x.jpg
     
  7. Borrego

    Borrego

    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    14
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2015
    Location:
    Coeur d' Alene, ID
    Life has happened, and it's been awhile since I've been able to touch this... I don't drive it often, and when I do it's just during the day, and I pull my running lights on when I need to show brake lights around town. LOL.

    So, Since the last posts, I've checked the hazard switch, and all the contacts looked clean as a whistle, so I don't think the issue is there. My turn signal wiring was cut by the PO, so I don't have the original plug, but the splices all look in good contact and I can trace the wires back into the factory harness and they look like they go where they should.

    When I check the upper left pin on the picture above, I only get power when the ignition is on, and my test light shows a very weak light (it barely lights up, but it does light). All other pins have nothing, and when the ignition is off, there is no power at all.

    What I don't understand on the above schematic is how this picture (option) ties in... What are Fuse A and Fuse B, and what wires go to the turn signal switch, hazard switch or brake lights?
    upload_2018-5-16_8-49-16.png
     
  8. 4x4veteran

    4x4veteran

    Messages:
    259
    Likes Received:
    1,041
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2013
    With a 12V test light check the hot wire in the socket using a good ground.
    If you get a light then clean the socket and see if a known to be working bulb lights up.
    If you can't get power at the tail light socket work your way forward tracing the wires looking for breaks and bad connections and testing with the light.
    I am betting bad ground at the brake light.
     
  9. Borrego

    Borrego

    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    14
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2015
    Location:
    Coeur d' Alene, ID
    I'll give it a try tonight, but I'm pretty sure my grounds are find at the lights, because I believe it to be a 2 way light, running light on one wire, and brake/turn signal on the other wire. Turn signals works. So wouldn't that rule out anything at the light socket?
     
  10. espensen

    espensen SILVER Star

    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2017
    Location:
    Skien, Norway
    You should have power on upper left pin regardless as the ignition is on or off. So it seems you have a problem with the wire from the fuse to the switch. Have you checked the fuse (2nd from the top)? Its the same fuse as the horn, does your horn work?