Botched Stereo Wiring (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Greetings! So I'm new to the owners club and am trying to get a few things accomplished to get my new rig road ready. One of the issues with it when I bought it was the stereo. I thought it would be a relatively easy fix but then I found this....

Does anyone have any suggestions? The harness receivers I expected to see are no longer there. It looks like the PO cut the OEM harnesses out, then later on decided to put the original Head unit back it. I have been reading some threads on wiring but does not seem like a lot deal particularly with this situation. I would like to utilize a harness so I can change out the head unit again down the road if need be instead of hardwiring it in. Also I am trying to bypass the amp. This idea looks like it could work but I'm not entirely sure

LX450 Stero wiring

Any ideas help! Thanks!

image.jpeg

image.jpeg

I should note that this is a 97 LX450. Also, what I was expecting was one white receiver and two grey, as opposed to the one and one currently present.

My metra harness used only 2 plugs, but here were 3 there. I have a 1996 LC though. I think someone in a different thread mentioned that on some of the stereos, the plugs you needed are hooked up by the back of the glovebox where the stock amp is. They then just extended the adapter harness wires to reach there. Have you looked back there?

I pulled my amp today. There are three plugs back there but I'll have to track down a wiring diagram to figure out what all they do. And if everything I need is there.

image.jpeg

Easiest, and in my opinion-best sounding method would be.-