AZ HB2318: Mobile Communications Law (*Anti-Texting) (1 Viewer)

Joined
Feb 28, 2012
Messages
977
Location
N. Phx
As part of a HAM radio Net Control meeting on Tuesday, one of the QST topics was the passage of AZ House Bill 2318, signed into law by governor Doug Ducey on Monday, Apr22 specific to Text Messaging while operating a vehicle on Arizona roadways. This has some implications for mobile communications and HAM station operators - who are specifically exempted.

Some language from the Bill:
"C. THIS SECTION DOES NOT APPLY TO: AN OPERATOR OF AN AUTHORIZED EMERGENCY, LAW ENFORCEMENT OR PROBATION VEHICLE WHO USES A PORTABLE WIRELESS COMMUNICATION DEVICE WHILE ACTING IN AN OFFICIAL CAPACITY." - so, police are exempt from this law...

"2. AN OPERATOR WHO IS LICENSED BY THE FEDERAL COMMUNICATIONS COMMISSION WHILE OPERATING A RADIO FREQUENCY DEVICE OTHER THAN A PORTABLE WIRELESS COMMUNICATION DEVICE.” - covering HAM Amateur Radio operation, along with the expanded FRS channels as long as the user has filed with FCC. Note that mobile use of scanning devices is still restricted when operating a motor vehicle in AZ, but rarely prosecuted. More on HAM follows, about what constitutes the focus of the law;

"(b) DOES NOT INCLUDE A RADIO, CITIZENS BAND RADIO, CITIZENS BAND RADIO HYBRID, COMMERCIAL TWO-WAY RADIO COMMUNICATION DEVICE OR ITS FUNCTIONAL EQUIVALENT, SUBSCRIPTION-BASED EMERGENCY COMMUNICATION DEVICE, PRESCRIBED MEDICAL DEVICE, AMATEUR OR HAM RADIO DEVICE OR IN-VEHICLE SECURITY, NAVIGATION OR REMOTE DIAGNOSTICS SYSTEM." So your LoJack, SPOT and On-Star is safe. The notation about HAM radio specifically and unquestionably permits the use of HAM radios in the vehicle.

On the effective dates and enforcement period (*and this is where it gets interesting...): “(Law Enforcement may) ISSUE A CITATION FOR A VIOLATION OF THIS SECTION BEFORE JANUARY 1, 2021 AND MAY ISSUE ONLY A WARNING BEGINNING ON THE EFFECTIVE DATE OF THIS SECTION THROUGH DECEMBER 31, 2020” after which date, this is a primary, ticketable offense of $75 for the first offense and $150-250 for any subsequent offense. The penalties are MUCH higher if you cause a crash with serious bodily injury or death.

My family has always had a hard and fast rule about no mobile device use while driving - hands free or not - because it's a separation of attention. We have some time before this is enforced, but for HAM stations operating mobile, this law won't affect us.
 

LandCruiserPhil

Peter Pan Syndrome
Supporting Vendor
Joined
Mar 10, 2004
Messages
25,006
Location
Scottsdale Arizona
Sorry but this is a poorly written law......

You are allowed to text and make phone calls while a vehicle is stopped at a red light or railroad crossing. So stupid IMO

No fines for a year, with police allowed to issue only warnings until then. More Stupid I cant see LEO stopping anyone to waste time giving a warning, Really?

Already the effect has been seen at the stop light :bang::flush::deadhorse:
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top Bottom