'71 40 Refresh - First rodeo. (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hey fellas,

I am Jared from Maryland, USA. Lurker of mud and long-time-lover of cruisers. Background on me:

By trade and hobby, I am a metal worker. I am a DIY guy and primarily focus on classic Porsches - Along my full time job, I run a small side business doing metal work on said Porsches.

A few years back I had an FJ cruiser, Not sure how you guys look at them, but I loved that truck and its reliability. It was always a little to new (and expensive) for me, so I sold it and bought a Trooper II... Or as I called it, the Isuzu Pooper Deux

For the past few years, 40 series trucks stay in rotation of my weekly (daily) classifieds search. I've always felt priced out of them, I know decent buys come around.

A few weeks ago, this kinda rough 40 popped on the classifieds (thanks @letterman52 ), local enough, fair price.
My fiance gave me the green light to put this thing at our house, so I sent off a deposit.

(unfortunately for her, it popped up the same day I proposed, so I feel like I stole a bit of her thunder there, haha!)

AQkRjr5.jpg

The truck:

Fortunately for me, a long time friend of mine - many of you know him as @mattressking - happened to be in town when the truck became available. This past Saturday we loaded up and grabbed the truck.

Specs as far as I can tell.

-Mostly there and mostly stock early car.
-1F, lots of new parts, ignition, cooling, etc.
-"runs and drives" It is a toyota...
-Orangey-red paint - anyone know which color?
-3 on the floor.
-Pretty rough rear tub.
-Disc conversion up front.

7m7qKsg.jpg

Now I own a Land Cruiser!

YKr85Is.jpg

Pics:

qxjj1Yg.jpg

TEv41S5.jpg

XYUrh7h.jpg

xStj9JV.jpg

OEyvB1v.jpg

Plans:

I made room in the garage, forfeiting other dreams for the time being. (sorry 912).
This is not a no-expense-spared job - working on a budget, when I have time.