'62 FJ40 in the Netherlands (2 Viewers)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hi All,

Newbie here. In 1998 we started with our first Landcruiser (new HDJ80 delivered 02/1998) to pull a heavy trailer. This one has gone 2 years ago but we still own a couple of other landcruisers (as you can read in the signature). The 84 FJ60 is my daily driver, and my dad drives the FJ cruiser and the FJ40.

My dad recently finished his (swiss) 71 FJ40 restauration and wanted a new project. Here in The Netherlands the climate is not so good for Landcruisers, so I started looking here on mud and found the 62 FJ40 from Gary (shmukster) in PA. After some emailing with him we decided to buy the truck.

The payment and the arranging of the transport took a little while, but yesterday it was picked up at Gary's place and it will be transported to Europe in a container. This will take about 4-5 weeks.

We can't wait until the this truck arrives. We are planning to do a full restore and want to keep it as original as possible. I will be doing this together with my father (actually, it's his project and I will help him when needed). We have no deadline and no heaps of time, so ithe project might take a couple of years.

This will be one of the oldest cruisers (if not: the oldest) in The Netherlands. (If someone knows a early dutch fj40 or even a fj25 we would like to get in touch!).

During the restauration we will probably have a lot of questions and we hope we can post here and use your expertise.

More info in Gary's thread https://forum.ih8mud.com/fj25-owners-group/599518-62-fj40-new-me.html. These are some recent pictures Gary sent me:
62 FJ40 Sept 9.jpg
40 trailer 7.jpg
40 trailer 2.jpg

Very cool!

So you and your dad want to do a 100% correct (or as close as possible) restoration? That sounds great!