1993 Land Cruiser, first purchase! (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
FZJ80
Just picked up this 1993 Land Cruiser. I’m brand new to the Land Cruiser world but have been drooling over them for years. I picked this up locally for $3500 and am going to attempt to make it my daily ASAP, as this is my only vehicle at the moment.

It certainly needs some work, but I’d love some input on how to go about it. I‘ve not done any searches yet, just picked it up this morning. This is more of an introduction I suppose.

Issues I know of as of now:

Engine dies at an idle. RPM’s slowly dip down and it dies. Under load, engine sounds good and feels good.

Leaky sunroof. Guy who sold it said he heard handful of different things as to how to fix it.

Rear hatch doesn’t open. The handle is broken but the lever is still there, but when you pull the lever it doesn’t feel like it releases anything.

It has some mild rust, but doesn’t look too bad. Nothing eating into the structure. All I saw was some surface rust.
one or two panels have some rust, but at first glance it didn’t appear too bad. I’ll know more when I get under it.

Seller stated he replaced the plugs, wires, and a handful of other small maintenance items, but is in the military and it’s sat for the last 7-8 months while he’s been on deployment. Got back and didn’t really want to mess with it.

Welcome, this forum has a boat load of info. First I'd tackle is the fusible links, efi relay, sun roof cleaning. There's a saying that I learned from here, make it run, make it stop, make it safe, make it pretty. I took that saying to heart.

I’m not really sure the specifics on the things you said to tackle first, but I’ll start digging when I have some time!
I think I got a decent deal, he was asking $3500 and I gave him $3500. He was expecting some negotiations tho, so makes me wonder.
but it is what it is, I am excited!