Help! I've messed up my transmission... (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hello all, this is my first post here. I recently bought a '96 fzj80.

I'm not a complete novice as far as mechanical things go, but I'm not the best, obviously, since, like a bonehead, I've messed up my tranny and can't figure it out.

Anyway, this is long. Sorry.

I went to change the transmission fluid out, so I drained it, took off the pan, and the filter. Well, I saw that there seemed to be alot of fluid on top of the valve body, so I took it off to drain that old fluid too. That was my first mistake.

So, a check ball connected to a plastic clip looking thing with an internal spring came out, a spring with a smaller stiffer spring inside of it came out, and the middle accumulator (I think is what it is) came out. They all fell out when I took the valve body off.

Idiot! Only now do I realize this.

So, I held the valve body up, put everything back where I think it went (and I followed the pictures from this link: Manual to auto swap - YotaTech Forums) and screwed it back in. Put the filter on, put some new gasket maker on the pan, and put it back on.

Now, time for the 2nd mistake.

If Dexron 2 is what came in it, ATF+4 Valvoline synthetic should be better, right? Hey, I've never had an automatic tranny before, and I always ran synthetics of thicker weight in my manual trannies, except for one. So please take it easy on me. Yes, I'm an idiot.

So, I get that all done, fire it up, put it in gear, and......nothing. I give it gas and it jerks. It felt like it was slipping, trying to engage, but having a really hard time doing so.

So, this probably was a third mistake. I bleed out the old fluid myself by disconnecting the hose going to the tranny fluid cooler in front of the radiator. Put in some standard issue Castrol Dexron 3.

Still did the same thing.