'96 Rock Shox Judy DH refurbish (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Website
www.scottparsley.com
I got this fork back in '96 when I bought my Intense Spyder from Cambria. It was a great fork back then and offered many years of service until it was replaced by a Marzocchi Z1 and most recently (yes I still ride this bike) a '06 Fox Vanilla.

Fast forward 15 years and this Judy fork was still lurking around my garage along with 6 or 7 other forks that I can't seem to let go of. It needed a new life. It wanted to be put back in service. So I made it into a light. Yup. A light.

STP_0113 by Scott P., on Flickr

STP_0117 by Scott P., on Flickr

All in all I ended up using 16 individual parts from the Judy fork.

STP_0112 by Scott P., on Flickr

So I retired the old Night Rider and I've been using this light for 10 months. It basically kicks ##s. It has worked flawlessly so far on our weekly trail sessions. At some point I'll be using the damper cartridge to make a small helmet light as well. Here's a link to the photo set on Flickr.

"Judy" - a set on Flickr

I'll try and dig up the "beam shots" and post them too.

Last edited:
Beam shots from my backyard
Control.jpg
dualBeam.jpg

That is great! Particularly like the use of the compression and rebound knobs as switches. And the cross-section where the X-brace meets the lowers is gorgeous!

Good job. Two rings up, 9 cogs down, three snaps and a circlip!

nice work.

pretty sure you could sell those.

bad ass!
What did you use for the lighting componentry?

Thanks. Aside from my daughter and a few photos, this light could quite possible be my greatest achievement. I'm really proud of how it worked out.