Transfer Case Snap Rings - Again (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Looks like I am the latest victim of the wrong part numbers being listed for the transfer case snap rings, as seen in....

Need help! dealer keeps ordering a wrong snap ring for Viscous coupler by @BlackLS1

and

Spyduh's LX450 Build (Motor Rebuild + Wits End Turbo Kit) by @spyduh

According to those threads, it has been established that the part numbers listed by Toyota are wrong, but no one was able to provide a correct part number. One person was able to find another Toyota snap ring, but it was used and the didn't know the part number. The other went full send and made a new one out of tool steel. I'm a pretty decent mechanic and amateur fabricator, but I don't have a machine shop. Someone else got one that fit from a transmission shop.

I would prefer to replace these, as Toyota does indicate they are one time use, I did replace all the bearings, and a couple of these now need much thicker rings than original (according to Toyota, you pick the thickness that "minimizes end play".

@cruiserdan stepped in to try to assist back in the day, but the thread died after an alternative solution was found.

The problem seems pretty obvious really, I'm thinking whomever provided the part numbers grabbed them for a 44mm EXTERNAL snap ring, where these are 44mm INTERNAL.

My first choice would be to use Toyota parts in the correct thickness, so I'm wondering if anyone ever has, or can assist with, figuring this out.