The Blue Bomber (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Felt like it was time to make a thread for my ride. 74 FJ55 all stock aside from the tires. The truck has some serious rust in all the wrong places. Frame is still really good. Tailgate is horrible. Rockers are even worse. Floorpan is bad as well, doors too. The roof is probably the worst of all. I bought this the day it was posted on craigslist (I had been looking forever). I have no welding experience, but am a fast learner. Hopefully that will all work out. College has been getting in the way. Here's some preliminary shots.
lcfront42zd1.jpg

imgp0573cx8.jpg

Oh yeah, naturally I'm having problems with the rear window. The front switch doesn't work at all, but the tailgate switch works partially. I have power to the panel. The circuit breaker and relay are fine. I don't have the window hooked up because I'm trying to figure out how to get the thing to work. Also, the channel is totally rusted out. Anyways, I think the tailgate key switch is partially bad. I can get it to operate up and when I switch the wires, the thing operates down. I'm thinking that the down wire is possibly grounded out somewhere or that it's not properly connected to the switch. Hopefully, I'll figure it out soon.

check the tailgate motor gear........they are almost always cracked and need to be replaced........the tailgates I have seen with problems.......always ended up with finding a cracked plastic gear............"Schumkster" did a very nice writeup on Toyota trails a cpl. of years ago on tailgate trouble shooting;

Lou

check the tailgate motor gear........they are almost always cracked and need to be replaced........the tailgates I have seen with problems.......always ended up with finding a cracked plastic gear............"Schumkster" did a very nice writeup on Toyota trails a cpl. of years ago on tailgate trouble shooting;

Lou