Starting prob!

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
hay guys I'm new to owning a fj80, and am haveing an issue. I parked it and now it will not start. I left it for a day and still nada, I checked for power at the relay and it is fine, I can hear the relay kick when I turn the key, but not the pump. If I jump the terminals on the check plug I can get the pump to run... Am I missing a link in between the two?

First thing I'd do is try jump-starting it.

Welcome,

Curtis

Edit: Ok, wait. Need a lot more info:

Doesn't crank? Cranks but won't fire up? Year of your rig?

Oops, left some things out... I have a 91 and I belive it is a 3fe it cranks fine but not starting. I cant hear the pump kick on unless I jump the connector then I can hear it buzzing away. But if I leave it jumped and try to start it it still will not run...

Yes it is... I'm so confused, I have power at the relay just fine. And I if I use a jump wire I have power at the pump, but with out the jumper, I do not get power to the pump.....

My book shows a circuit opening realy, could that be the problem? It's the only thing I can see from the wireing diagram that would be between the two, if it is could you tell me where it is located on the vehicle??

I have a 92 3FE and had the same problem a few weeks ago. It was the EFI relay/fuse. You can get the non oem ones at Autozone to get you by. I live in AZ and have trouble with them getting too hot while pulling a trailer in the summer. It is worth the 13.00 bucks to swap it out and see if it starts. It is in the black box under the hood by the drivers side fender. It is a round metal relay. There are two, one is for the horn. The top one towards the engine is the EFI relay. There should be a diagram on the top of the black box.

Just Called my local autozone and they said they could order the relay for $180????