Sleeping Platforms w/o removing backseat? (3 Viewers)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hey guys, this is my first time posting in the Expedition section of MUD, and while I don't plan to be doing anything more serious than family camping, the stuff you guys do is really inspiring.

I've tried the search and found a few things, but not what I was looking for.

What I'm looking for is what you've done to create a sleeping platform in back of a 60 series without removing the backseat.

My 62 is a daily driver, and with two kids the back seat holds precedence over removing the seat for an easier/more permanent set up. I like the idea of having a permanent drawer system/platform in the cargo area, and then something that allows that platform to remain flat when the seat is in the down position which would allow a foam mattress or small blow up mattress in the back.

Thanks in advance for the help.

I've been thinking about something similar myself. What makes the most sense, in my mind, is having the drawers/platform go up to the level of the rear wheel wells, so you have something closer to a rectangular space when the seat is folded down.

Then, you'd have a piece, connected by hinges, that would fold out and cover the area over the folded down back seat.

Here's a crudely drawn schematic I just made:
rearcargo.gif

I've been thinking about something similar myself. What makes the most sense, in my mind, is having the drawers/platform go up to the level of the rear wheel wells, so you have something closer to a rectangular space when the seat is folded down.

Then, you'd have a piece, connected by hinges, that would fold out and cover the area over the folded down back seat.

Here's a crudely drawn schematic I just made: