Remote Start? (2 Viewers)

mtnracer

GOLD Star
Joined
Oct 22, 2007
Messages
958
Location
South Florida
I read that out 2010 LX570 has remote start capability but I can't seem to figure out how to make it work. Supposedly clicking the unlock on the remote twice or three times should do it but no luck.

Anyone know how to enable remote start?
 
Joined
May 6, 2013
Messages
3,568
Location
UP Washington
pretty sure you just click the lock button twice and then on the third time hold it down, the rig will start right up! Then of course when the open the door the rig will shut right down:mad:
 
Joined
Oct 4, 2014
Messages
65
Location
Littleton, CO
With my 2013 LC, it's the lock button. Click it twice, then hold it down the 3rd time until it fires up. It keeps the hazards flashing (I hate this) the whole time it's running on remote start.

The moment you press unlock or open a door with the keyless feature, it shuts down. (Weird also.)
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2014
Messages
6
Mine is an 08LC and it does it too. Press lock button three times and hold on the third press, as stated, and after a full 5 seconds it starts up. Pushing and holding the unlock button rolls my windows down and opens the sun roof.
 

MScruiser

obsessive-compulsive oppositional-defiant wise-ass
Supporting Vendor
Joined
Jan 3, 2012
Messages
6,143
Location
Jackson, MS
My fob only unlocks. No fancy stuff. Guess I need to buy the tech stream controller. :(
 
Joined
Sep 22, 2013
Messages
33
Location
Birmingham, Alabama
I had it put on and I hate it. It shutting down when I open the doors is silly, but it now also shuts off when I step away with the key in my pocket. Example is if I step into the store for a soda with the family still in the car, I have to leave the key with them. It's just a bad system.
 

mtnracer

GOLD Star
Joined
Oct 22, 2007
Messages
958
Location
South Florida
I tried all of your tips / instructions but our LX will not remote start. Looks like there is a remote start kit that is a dealer option which we will need. Has anyone installed this kit?
 
Joined
Dec 26, 2007
Messages
265
Location
Austin, TX
y'all read the Costco thread, right?...you can apparently drive pretty far without the fob... :doh:
I'm thinking the auto off thing is a security issue. Imagine its winter and you remote start to warm it up while you are still getting your coffee, in the house, then a bad guy comes by and says "wow look a LC running with no one in it...he opens the door and it shuts off....LC is safe
 

gaijin

GOLD Star
Joined
Dec 9, 2012
Messages
3,257
y'all read the Costco thread, right?...you can apparently drive pretty far without the fob... :doh:
I'm thinking the auto off thing is a security issue. Imagine its winter and you remote start to warm it up while you are still getting your coffee, in the house, then a bad guy comes by and says "wow look a LC running with no one in it...he opens the door and it shuts off....LC is safe

OK ... how exactly does the bad guy get the door open? o_O
 
Joined
Apr 15, 2012
Messages
8
Location
Colorado
It's a factory toyota oversight. My 2012 Grand Cherokee has factory remote start. I start it remotely and the doors stay locked. I unlock it by the handle with my FOB in my pocket and it stays running. I can hop in but it's not shifting or moving until I touch the brake and hit the starter button. Then I can go on my merry way.
I would be interested to see if the vehicle could be operated if someone was locked in the vehicle while its started remotely. The reason I'm wondering is perhaps a savvy tech could disable the part of the process that cuts the engine when the door is opened.
 
Joined
May 6, 2013
Messages
3,568
Location
UP Washington
y'all read the Costco thread, right?...you can apparently drive pretty far without the fob... :doh:
I'm thinking the auto off thing is a security issue. Imagine its winter and you remote start to warm it up while you are still getting your coffee, in the house, then a bad guy comes by and says "wow look a LC running with no one in it...he opens the door and it shuts off....LC is safe
they could have easily designed it so you have to have the fob to open the door and then also have the fob in the cab in order to put the truck in drive, not gonna give Toyota a pass on this one, I love my 200 but the remote start is just f'd up.. imo
 
Joined
Sep 22, 2013
Messages
33
Location
Birmingham, Alabama
they could have easily designed it so you have to have the fob to open the door and then also have the fob in the cab in order to put the truck in drive, not gonna give Toyota a pass on this one, I love my 200 but the remote start is just f'd up.. imo

Agree completely.
 
Joined
Sep 16, 2005
Messages
5,264
Location
Ponte Vedra, Florida
If you have one it will say it under the hood. After you open the hood look up and if you have it it will state this vehicle is equipped with remote start. I guess techs need to know this before the work on the engine?
 
Joined
Apr 20, 2013
Messages
929
Location
Seattle, WA / Homer, AK / Reykjavik, IS
The engineers could design it to do anything. However, they have to take liability concerns into account. Thus the starter we have.

Not really an issue to me. Doubt I will wear out the starter and the 2 seconds it takes to restart the vehicle really is not much of a concern either.

Now back to wondering why we can't get the diesel gulf spec stripper 200 with the manual transmission, cloth interior, and solid front axle.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 11, 2013
Messages
457
Location
Kentucky
I use the factory remote start. After the third light flash i release the lock button and a few seconds later the truck starts but the flashers do not continue to flash (this do flash for one second which confirms the truck understood the command). Perhaps this is something that could be set using the dealer's software but I think mine is untouched. Continuous flashing is a bit garish.
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top Bottom