Radiator Leak (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hello! I was doing a flush on my ‘92 today and noticed a leak on top of my radiator. Saw pin hole bubbles and it’s leaking slowly. Is this worth fixing/sealing or should I just get a new one?

Btw, I’m a newbie home mechanic... no experience on radiator replacement or wrenching in general. Excited to learn! :)

Thanks!

34FF2C2B-78E7-4EE1-8CC1-1721A5FA9FE8.jpeg

Time for a new one.
When was the last time the rubber lines were replace? Might want to do those too.

92's came with a Copper/Brass radiator. The picture indicates it still has a Copper/Brass radiator which is leaking at the solder joint. Good radiator repair shops are hard to find but a good one should in theory be able to repair or re-core the radiator. So repair is an option but there are inexpensive aftermarket options as well. A search for radiator in this forum will give you plenty to read.

@Rusty Marlin offered great advice. If you are draining the coolant system it is a perfect time to change the heater valve on the firewall (if it is original) along with all the heater hoses and radiator hoses. Heater valve if it is tan in color and the PHH are musts!

IIRC the 93 thru 97 radiators are interchangeable. General consensus on this forum is to avoid the CSF 2517 Copper/Brass radiator. They are built well but heat soak easy on hill climbs.

Last edited:
That doesn't look like nearly enough rubber hoses. Hopefully somebody with 3FE experience will chime in.
If this were a 1FZ, I'd tell you that's a nice start... but woefully short of all that's needed to change out ALL the coolant hoses.