personal shop (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

JohnnyFish

GOLD Star
Threads
Website
twitter.com
This working in my garage and making my wife step over car parts is getting old.

I've never considered renting shop space before, and I have no experience doing such a thing. I'm wondering if my LC peer group here can offer any ideas. The guy I bought Porsche 911 seats from in '19 had a shop he shared with some buddies. I think he worked at Cobb. He's my inspiration.

Any thoughts folks?

Larry

Not sure if you're looking for a ongoing space or just for when you have a project. I've threatened moving just to get a third car garage or some type of space to be able to work and not feel constrained by completing by EOD so wife could get her car in the garage. But in this housing market that's not happening.

I know in high school a budd's dad rented a stroage unit basically that had 220 and 110 plugs in the "unit" where he stored and worked on his project. There was a ton of space all around and up. Haven't seen those around here but haven't looked heavily.

I do know for just getting a lift or quick jobs you can rent space by the hour up north at https://diyatx.com/.

1612364847028.jpeg
1612364862572.jpeg

Good call on diyatx, but my current project isn’t really suitable.

You're working with a lot more space than I am!
What's that on the lift? 👀
Good eye! That's the '66 MGB my dad ordered from an Air Force base PX in '65. I spent about $20k restoring it 20 years ago, and it's worth maybe $15k now, but priceless to me. Under it is my kid's Civic. My wife's Mini parks next to Goose Poop (the project in question).

I would share a picture of my garage but what was already small now feels tiny (take that where you will).

My buddy said it was a RV storage unit (enclosed) and had the power outlets. I remember it being cooler than that but that was a long time ago