New to FJ40s, getting a 1969 (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
It looks like I may be getting a '69 FJ40 soon. It's been sitting for at least a year, but ran then, just hasn't been used or even started since. I have limited wrenching experience - it's been a long time since I worked on cars beyond basic maintenance and repairs, and when I did anything significant it was on old VWs and a Jeep CJ5 I once had - pretty simple stuff. This one needs a fuel tank, and the owner said it "needs brakes," too. So, I'm going to need to haul it home to get started.

Since it won't start, getting it onto a rental trailer seems unlikely, so I'm wondering what my other options, short of having it commercially hauled, are.

Also, is there a repair manual that speaks to "idiots" like me? I got a lot of mileage out of the old John Muir "Idiot" repair book for VWs (I still use it for my '67 Bug), and wondered if there is anything similar for 40s. I need a manual, hopefully with parts info, specs, etc. to help me get going.

I appreciate any help. I've been on yotatech for years -- it's helped me keep my '95 4Runner going -- and everyone there said that this is THE definitive site for Cruisers, so here I am. :cheers:

Good year for a 40. I use to be into VW's back in the day and used the "idiot's Guise" in the beginning also, it was very straight forward. I'm not sure if there is one for 40's, but the factory shop manuals are a must have. These rigs are pretty basic and simple to work on. Enjoy.

Factory manuals are better, but I've managed 20 years with a "Haynes" manual. Cars don't get any more straight forward than a 40. Even swapping discs brakes front and rear was something I was able to figure out... without a manual, and before ih8mud.:D

Will it roll?
Come-a-longs, winches, High-lift jacks can all pull a vehicle onto a trailer. Talk to your local rental shop about options.