Need Help DVD/NAV 2006 LC (1 Viewer)

Joined
Mar 22, 2007
Messages
23
Hey All,


I was trying to use a mp3 cd but the dvd player will not read it;? is there a way to use home made cds with factory system? :confused:


Thanks,


Z
 
Joined
Jan 7, 2006
Messages
9,470
Location
through the river and over the woods.
I have a 99 with the OEM unit (non nav) and i am wondering the same thing.

Thanks

not sure on the newer model, but i know if my 2000 LX didnt play MP3 cds...you sure as heck cant ;)


For anyone with 98-02 I recommend aftermarket setups...they look stock when done correctly.
 
Joined
May 21, 2004
Messages
3,566
Location
San Diego
Website
www.motobasedadventures.com
not sure on the newer model, but i know if my 2000 LX didnt play MP3 cds...you sure as heck cant ;)

:D

For anyone with 98-02 I recommend aftermarket setups...they look stock when done correctly.

Yeah, i am really contemplating this, but the Crutchfield folks say it cant be hooked up easily! Hmmm I am an electrical retard, so i will wait for someone else to try it first! :D

h500iDAX001-f_mtp.jpg
 
Joined
Jan 7, 2006
Messages
9,470
Location
through the river and over the woods.
that is horrendous. ill pm you when I get home some pix of my setup...I think you may enjoy it more.
 
Joined
Jan 7, 2006
Messages
9,470
Location
through the river and over the woods.
o and crutchfield just said that becausethere isn't a plug and play harness avaliable for our cars so you have to splice the factory wiring. not a big deal since you woul never want to put the oem stuff back in
 
Joined
Jan 7, 2006
Messages
9,470
Location
through the river and over the woods.
zack, the mp3 cds you made wouldn't happen to have DRMs would that? IE:songs bought from itunes. mp3 cds made from itunes downloads will not play in any mp3 capable cd players
 
Joined
May 21, 2004
Messages
3,566
Location
San Diego
Website
www.motobasedadventures.com
that is horrendous. ill pm you when I get home some pix of my setup...I think you may enjoy it more.

Cool, lemme know, but just an FYI, the MOST IMPORTANT thing to me about a head unit is the iPod functionality!

I dont need/want Nav, or anything fancy smancy stuff, just access to the tunes! :D
 
Joined
May 21, 2004
Messages
3,566
Location
San Diego
Website
www.motobasedadventures.com
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 22, 2007
Messages
23
Could it be the software I'm using? or I have the dvd changer, not the single in dash unit?
I will make another and try again? Also I wouuld like to add a pair of alpine 7 monitors for headrests?

Thanks for all the help guys!

Z
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 7, 2006
Messages
9,470
Location
through the river and over the woods.

meh....i just looked it up...didnt apply to my truck,

Could it be the software I'm using? or I have the dvd changer, not the single in dash unit?
I will make another and try again? Also I wouuld like to add a pair of alpine 7 monitors for headrests?

Thanks for all the help guys!

Z

It COULD be the software your using...that is a slight possibility. Check your programs "burning" options in the preferences screen. Your sure that it WILL play MP3s correct? I have no experience with the toyota/lexus oem radios with MP3 CDs except for in the FJCruiser.
 
Joined
Dec 8, 2004
Messages
311
Location
Knoxville, TN
Could it be the software I'm using? or I have the dvd changer, not the single in dash unit?
I will make another and try again? Also I wouuld like to add a pair of alpine 7 monitors for headrests?

Thanks for all the help guys!

Z


I have a 2006 and mp3 cds play just fine. All of mine were downloaded from itunes, too.
 
Joined
Mar 22, 2007
Messages
23
Fly, what software are u using? do you have the dvd changer or in dash cd player?


Thanks,

Z
 
Joined
Jan 11, 2008
Messages
11
When I bought my '06 LC used in December, I tried an MP3 but the player wouldn't recognize it. I have the usual factory nav system with the console changer. The system will play DVDs, which I think requires it to be able to decode MP3 audio. However, I found no indication in any of the manuals that it will play MP3s. After seeing this thread, I tried another MP3 disc (a commercial, published MP3 disc, not one I burned.) It was also not recognized.

Is it possible that in the USA MP3 capability was enabled for the LX but disabled for the LC?
 
Joined
Mar 22, 2007
Messages
23
Okay, is there a code or trick to make it read burned cds???
Also what software are u guys using somestimes that makes all the difference?


Thanks,

Z
 
Joined
Feb 1, 2007
Messages
45
Location
South Central PA
remember that CD-RW's usually do not work in factory systems. try CD-R's. the laser technology is slightly different between the 2.
 
Joined
Dec 8, 2004
Messages
311
Location
Knoxville, TN
Fly, what software are u using? do you have the dvd changer or in dash cd player?


Thanks,

Z


I have the center console DVD changer. I will have to check the software, but I know it just came straight from the itunes site. I am using CD-R discs.
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top Bottom