1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

HJ60 2H burning oil

Discussion in 'Diesel Tech / 24 volts' started by skoki, Aug 20, 2006.

1. skoki

skoki

Media:
    Albums:
    My HJ60 2H is starting to burn a lot of oil and the clutch is starting to chatter. It has 400,000 km’s on it so that’s not too surprising. I want to go through the engine from top to bottom to find the cause of excessive oil use but I’m new to diesels so I would appreciate any tips or hints you guys could give me. Before I start I want to have everything in place so I can diagnose, replace, repair, etc as quickly as possible to minimize my down time. I put over 1000 km / 600 miles a week on my rig. Oil changes are killing me. Should I go to a bypass oil filter system? What brand? I’ve got the Toyota Engine repair manual so I’ll do the step by step they outline for engine tune-up. However I do have some questions.

1. Valve adjustment- What is the easiest way to turn crank to adjust valves. Not much room to get a socket in there. Looks like I’ll have to remove the clutch fan and rad shroud?
    2. Engine compression tester – I’m having trouble finding one for a high compression metric diesel. Can someone point me towards a retailer?
    3. Injection pump diaphragm, easy to replace, necessary to replace?
    4. Any excellent diesel mechanics in the Calgary, Alberta area?
    5. Best place to get a clutch and throwout bearing?

Any other filters, procedures, areas of concern, etc that I should do?

Skoki

2. roscoFJ73

roscoFJ73

Media:
    Albums:
    With 400000 klms on the clock I would guess a rebuild is on the horizon.
    Its most likely burning the oil it as it slips past the oil rings
    Compression testers can be found on Ebay but the diesel variety are more expensive. Expect to pay $150+

Turning the engine is easier if you remove the glow plugs,you will need to remove them anyway to do a compression test.