Guatemalan 1976 FJ45 questions (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hey guys/gals. I'm currently living in Guatemala and have found what seems to be a pretty good deal on a restored FJ45. I'm very new to the world of buying FJs but I've always loved the classic look and am excited by the possibility of getting my first one. I'm going to speak with the mechanic who did the restoration work within the next week, but since I don't know much about what exactly to look for in a good restoration, I was wondering if y'all could help with the important questions to know and ask. I'll link the photos I currently have of the 45, as i would love to know what y'all think. I appreciate the help!

IMG_1331.jpg

IMG_1330.jpg

IMG_1332.jpg

IMG_1333.jpg

IMG_1335.jpg

Well, bezel is upside down. I would go over it with a magnet and fine tooth comb, looking for rust repairs, considering the region.

Hate the front turn signals and their location on top of the fender. Because the original opening was filled would take a close look on the underside. May give you a idea of the quality of the work. The back left corner of the bed looks like it has had work. Should see a seam where the side folds over the valance under the tailgate. Should sharp corner with very little rounded on the edge. Would change the with a magnet. Does look like the engine was touched. I would be sure your not buying a new paint job covering up a bunch of Bondo filled dent and rust.

The truck has not been “restored “. It has had a new paint job recently. With the amount of rust on the underside of the bed floor it probably won’t be long before the rust starts bubbling underneath the new paint. The bezel, grill badge and turn signals are very good indicators of the quality of the “restoration “. Buyer beware!