GFCI outlet question (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

CSteppe82

Legalize Cannabis
SILVER Star
Threads
My house is under contract and when they did the inspection he found several gfci outlets that weren't grounded (kitchen & bathroom) . I told the buyer that I would have it repaired/replaced. How can I ground the gfci if I don't have a ground wire ??

Thanks
Chad

Last edited:
I am NOT an electrician and codes differ state to state. This is just what I know from personal DIY experience. With that;

Is it old wiring that actually does not have a ground wire at all or new wiring that the ground was just not hooked up? Are some of them grounded and some added later? Also you can wire it with just one GFCI tied to several outlets so that they all trip with it instead of multiple GFCI outlets. You can also have a GFCI breaker in the panel and standard outlets all tied to it. That is what I did in our kitchen but that is getting away from your question...

Wiring Multiple GFCI outlets

If you don't have a ground wire at all you would need to run a separate ground wire to all the outlets and back to the main panel ground. If some of the outlets on that circuit are grounded you can run a ground from the easiest or closest one.

How old is the house? No grounds? Pretty much have to run a ground wire, but could “cheat” and run a ground to a nearby metallic water line.

@PAToyota That is terrible advice. Doing that, and having a real ground fault in the system, will electrify your water lines. If timed correctly, you can get a nice shock when turning on a faucet, or worse.

You CANNOT ground anything if you don't have a ground wire (EGC, equipment grounding conductor, the typically bare copper wire snaking in and out of each junction box). Don't ground the GFCI. What the inspector found was not a code violation. It's just an old installation, period.