FJ80 Starting Problems (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
I drove my '92 around this afternoon on low fuel and eventually I filled it up. I made a stop after the gas station and it would not start. This problem has occurred more than once to me typically when the fuel is low, however, I definitely had fuel in it this time. A couple of mechanics walked by and started helping me, keep in mind I am no mechanic so everything seemed to go in one ear and out the other. They started seeing if there was a spark with the spark plug wiring, but there wasn't and apparently no audible noise either. One of them tested if there was pressure in the tank, there was. They both seemed to think it could've been the fuel pump or some sort of relay problem. However one of them suggested putting the car in neutral then in park again and it turned on. I am wondering if there is an underlying issue here and if anyone here could help me diagnose it.

Neutral Safety Switch Working? It’s on Shifter.

Wouldn’t Crank or Solenoid didn’t click on Starter?

did you hear a click when you turn the key? Did you verify the CEL is on when the key is in the on position?
Does this usually happen when you have driven a while and the engine is warm?

did you hear a click when you turn the key? Did you verify the CEL is on when the key is in the on position?
Does this usually happen when you have driven a while and the engine is warm?
It happens when I have driven it awhile never normally when it's been cold. CEL is on when the key is in the on position, there is a click.
Neutral Safety Switch Working? It’s on Shifter.

Wouldn’t Crank or Solenoid didn’t click on Starter?
Would crank, not entirely sure if the switch is working/how it would operate either way.

Keep in mind the car runs normally now. It only seems to happen when the car has been running on low fuel then I fill it up.

Last edited: