FJ40 instrument cluster removal (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

dgangle

total rice
Threads
This is a total newb question, I realize but how in the world do you remove the stock FJ40 instrument cluster in my '75?

I have removed the 2 screws on the face and detached the speedo cable and it won't budge....concerned about breaking something fragile.

I have searched, read, read and read to no avail.

Its held in with the two screws, and then has two "tabs" that hook onto the dash at the bottom of the cluster.

I tilt the top outwards (which is why the speedo cable must be detached) and then when there is clearance, lift upward and out.

yep, tilt the top out and pull up. but dont forget to reach in and push in on the plastic tab that holds the speedometer cable to the gauge. and i ground off the two little tabs at the bottom so i could pull mine easier.

I take out the two screws and unhook the speedo cable at the rear of the t/c. After it is unhooked , I push slack towards the cluster and the cluster just tilts from the top towards the steering wheel. I then unhook the speedo cable from the cluster and continue tilting the top towards the steering wheel until it clears where I can lift it out. It has two tabs on the bottom that have to lift out.

Be sure and disconnect your battery because you can smoke your gauges pretty easily in this position. Good Luck.

Kerry

Does anyone have a picture of the screws? I removed mine and can't remember what they look like to put them back in. The ones I thought were correct aren't going in properly...

I looked on Coolermans list of bolts but didn't see pictures of them. Thanks (and sorry to hijack)

Thanks,
Jonny

thanks...all good info. Working on removing the light shield/covers.

Ok, so once tilted out and lifted up, will have I have to diconnect all the wires to the back of the gauges or unplug a harness??????