CT12B durability (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
anyone run these to the point of ruining them?
My wife has been using the 78 series for the past couple of weeks and had been complaining about whistles and air noise, I though yep whatever blah blah blah
Checked on weekend and low and behold my dodgy bleed off has fallen off so no wastegate at all and on checking the gauge shows max 25psi when flat out up a hill
Does wonders for the EGT , showing a max of only 550 deg celsius

Might run this all the time once intercooler is plumbed in

Will the turbo last?

Probably not. Some of the Supra guys are running those. Seems they may start coming apart at that kinds of boost. I believe they regularly run them to 20PSI however. New billet turbine wheel would probably solve the breaking apart issues for a while.
I have no actual experience with that turbo, my info is just from reading on the Internet, so take it for what it's worth.

The 550 C , might be the problem ....
Alluminiamo pistons melt at arround 640 C.
If the Egt , is post turbo , you should add approx 50-70C to the reading .

Renago

The CT 12 B with 25 PSI? It's a "no-no"

Seems to me that your westgate no longer opens. You should check the pressure hose that comes to the actuator, probably is interrupted somewhere, or popped out at one of it's ends.
Soon you will have oil passing trough the bearing and you risk engine runaway.

The CT 12 B with 25 PSI? It's a "no-no"

Seems to me that your westgate no longer opens. You should check the pressure hose that comes to the actuator, probably is interrupted somewhere, or popped out at one of it's ends.
Soon you will have oil passing trough the bearing and you risk engine runaway.

was actually asking if anyone has run these to destruction not "what might happen"
I know the waste gate has fallen off