Converting a 40 to a 45... who has done it? (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
I am really tempted to pick up a used beater 40 and chop it up into a 45. I can't imagine I am in uncharted water but searches don't turn up much. Any leads? I know Jack Rice did one a while back but that was more a crawler... same with Zornff, and Nolen with Kate.

Anyone got any ideas and or leads on a write up or two?

Drew

Other than D'animals, I don't remember seeing much else. I know it's been done, and I'm really wanting to do it myself. Only I want to end up with an extended cab like Proffits.
04_1[1].jpg

It has been done several times. I followed others. Gumby posted a link to my build. You can see all of the good, the bad and the challenges in that thread.

I'm a chainsaw mechanic so if I can do it, anybody with some skill or a fat wallet should be able to do it better, faster and end up with a cleaner looking result.

Good Luck!

i did this conversion well over 12 years ago with a tub from aqualu and some spare fj45 body parts that came with my original fj45 that i bought.. i originally built my 45 based on a short wheel base 45 but has changed quite a bit over the years.. it was built on the original 40 frame that i stretched 14 inches in the middle..
the body now sits on a diesel 60 series rolling chasis complete with a 3b toyota diesel, 5 speed and splitcase...

P1040349.jpg

P1040488.jpg

P1000781.jpg

It has been done several times. I followed others. Gumby posted a link to my build. You can see all of the good, the bad and the challenges in that thread.

I'm a chainsaw mechanic so if I can do it, anybody with some skill or a fat wallet should be able to do it better, faster and end up with a cleaner looking result.

Good Luck!

I read through half of your build thread alread D'animal, I am very impressed bro. That came out super nice. Stand proud bro!