For Sale BRAND NEW 40 SERIES OEM TOYOTA SPEEDOMETER CLUSTER 12V (1 Viewer)

Akella

SILVER Star
Joined
Apr 14, 2010
Messages
1,436
Location
London, ON Canada
Brand new TOYOTA OEM speedo cluster for 40 series 12V. It has 50A AMP meter. Cluster in KM/H

It should work on early models as well.

Price is $350USD Shipped
40 series cluster brand new 0.jpg
40 series cluster brand new 1.jpg
40 series cluster brand new 3.jpg
 
Joined
Dec 26, 2009
Messages
41
Location
South Africa , Kenya, London
FYI, it's a 4th generation cluster for 1979 and later models. The AMmeter (50Amp) is a different circuit and will not work in earlier models.
All about clusters here: Clusters, Gauges, Speedo & Odo meters

Rudi
HI Rudi I have a new cluster like that one , it is in my fj40 with 55 amp alternator and am trying to figure out how to make the 50 amp ammeter work by using the feed from the alternator as a shunt , it may not be accurate but will give me an indication of charge or discharge ? Do you have any idea of the specs milli voltage on the meter ?

Dave
 

bj40green

Tssss, tssss
Joined
Dec 13, 2010
Messages
3,458
Location
Atenas, Costa Rica
HI Rudi I have a new cluster like that one , it is in my fj40 with 55 amp alternator and am trying to figure out how to make the 50 amp ammeter work by using the feed from the alternator as a shunt , it may not be accurate but will give me an indication of charge or discharge ? Do you have any idea of the specs milli voltage on the meter ?

Dave

Hi Dave,

What year is your Cruiser?

Rudi
 
Joined
Dec 26, 2009
Messages
41
Location
South Africa , Kenya, London
HI rudi it is a 72 but has a 1 kz motor and wiring loom with auto transmission , I am pretty confident on wiring on the new ammeter but don't have the mv rating for the 50 amp meter . Dave
I have all the rest of the gauges working except the fuel, speedo and ammeter , I will need a fuel sender , I have a speedo converter identified but don't want ot blow the ammeter in the new cluster.
 

bj40green

Tssss, tssss
Joined
Dec 13, 2010
Messages
3,458
Location
Atenas, Costa Rica
I have all the rest of the gauges working except the fuel, speedo and ammeter , I will need a fuel sender , I have a speedo converter identified but don't want ot blow the ammeter in the new cluster.

You need a 0.006 ohm shunt resistor. This creates a voltage drop of 300mV.
You can do this by using 18" of AWG14 wire.
Something like this:
Untitled1-edit.jpg


Rudi
 
Joined
Dec 26, 2009
Messages
41
Location
South Africa , Kenya, London
Rudi

Im moving onto the fuel gauge , I have a sender unit for a KZ78 as that is the tank I fitted , it has a warning light. It is not compatible with the gauge in the photo and the back of the unit look likes the attached picture , would you know what the ohm for the fuel gauge is ? Also attached pic of FJ , assembled in Kenya , rebuilt in Kenya and now in Capetown South Africa.

Any help appreciated

Dave

IMG_1460.jpg


IMG_1455.jpg
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top Bottom