Backup cam for 2004 GX 470 (non-nav) (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
After getting used to having a backup camera and Bluetooth in my last car, I’m looking for something I can install in the 2004 GX 470 (non-nav) I just purchased. My order of priorities is 1) backup camera, 2) Bluetooth audio, and 3) Apple CarPlay.

Has anyone found a solution they’ve been happy with? If so, I’m interested in your product recommendations (i.e. for the head unit and camera) and hearing about the install experience.

After a quick search, I found something on eBay that looked like it could work (see screenshots), but since I’m a novice, I wanted to solicit some feedback before I make the purchase. Thanks!

IMG_2619.png

IMG_2618.png

The backup camera mounting on these can be a bit tricky to have and look good. I made a custom bracket to mount this one just above the license plate, instead of over it, and it works pretty well. Otherwise, you can just use the plate mount that they come with, which will work fine but not look the best.

Regarding the head unit, those eBay Chinesium head units can be hit-or-miss at best and have nonexistant tech support. For a nav-equipped GX the Chinesium units are really your only option (I have a Phoenix PX6 and it can be buggy but works), but you are on your own for figuring it out.

For a novice DIY with a non-nav GX I'd really recommend getting everything through Crutchfield as they'll sell you the full install kit with the wiring harness, dash trim, antenna adapter, steering wheel button adapter, and install instructions, then give you tech support if needed. I used a Crutchfield kit on an Outback recently and it made the process pretty easy. I also used a lower-end Boss AA/Car Play head unit and it's been fine, although I would have used a nicer head unit if it had been my personal rig.

Last edited: