Baby blue (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

cruisedeisel

Toyota's for life
Threads
So this is what I get to start with. A 1980 beautiful BJ40. I bought it and it had not run in years. Pretty decent shape for a west coast cruiser. Fusible links all cut for some reason? And im new to 24 volts so FML.

IMG_0074[1].JPG

So this is what I get to start with. A 1980 beautiful BJ40. I bought it and it had not run in years. Pretty decent shape for a west coast cruiser. Fusible links all cut for some reason? And im new to 24 volts so FML.

View attachment 2924157
24 volts isn’t all that different from 12 volts, so I wouldn’t stress it. You’ll do fine. :D

Last edited:
24v is twice as much fun! And sometimes, twice as hard to find parts for... :-/

Looks like it could use one of those $74 headlight kits from Toyota. Even if you had to upgrade to 24v relays and bulbs you’d be $$$ ahead.

Looking forward to seeing your build. I’m starting to feel like I’m one of the only 40 series left here. Seapotato has his Frankencruiser… but I’m not sure it counts as a 40 series (although it’s as good as anything to call it). :D

Looks like it could use one of those $74 headlight kits from Toyota. Even if you had to upgrade to 24v relays and bulbs you’d be $$$ ahead.

Looking forward to seeing your build. I’m starting to feel like I’m one of the only 40 series left here. Seapotato has his Frankencruiser… but I’m not sure it counts as a 40 series (although it’s as good as anything to call it). :D
Bit judgy this morning are we? :rolleyes:

View attachment 2924157
Looks like fun. 24v isn't a big deal. Problem is almost always dip**** previous owners screwing things up.
They usually put in a stereo and don't do it right, or haywire the lights somehow.
1979/80 bj40 was my first cruiser. Technically still is my cruiser, it just spent ten years in a drawer :lol: