60 road trip ( should I buy?) (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hi all! After months of searching high and low I think I've found a great platform for my build. I'm a cruiser newbie so welcome all perspectives.

Truck is a 1987 60 with ~167,000 miles and the original 2f. PO says it runs and drives fine but isn't driven much beyond a few fishing trips a year. I won't see it until we go to pick it up on Monday. It has a few rust spots but generally looks good minus a hole above the rain gutter and what looks like some heavier rust on the rear cross member above the muffler. Any cause for concern ?

The goal is to create a reliable (well mostly reliable) daily driver and ski / mountain biking and camping adventure mobile. It doesn't have to be any of those things on day one.

If it all checks out I'll be kicking off my relationship with a 200 mile drive home. What should I expect to go wrong and what parts make sense to bring with?

00W0W_8xSWUcFmviUz_0gw0co_1200x900.jpg
01010_bNij1c3ewGCz_0gw0co_1200x900.jpg
01717_2WJj1SZRbHvz_0gw0co_1200x900.jpg
00D0D_jAbH46rz86Qz_0gw0co_1200x900.jpg
image0.jpeg

Well, the roof would worry me the most. A frame is replaceable, but the roof is a tough one to tackle. That said, the picture of the frame you posted doesn’t reveal much. Let’s see the around the rear wheel arches and the c-channels on either side of the spare tire.

The PNW is arguably one of the best places to snag a great 60. Little to no snow in a lot of places, no salt, less sunshine to rot out the plastic and rubber bits.

All that said, if the price is right, go for it.

I live where we have rust. That cruiser looks pretty good, it looks like the rust can be saved with less work. It’s a good start as long as it’s a good price.