100 too stiff after OME medium lift (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
I have searched tons of threads here. I'm a little let down w my suspension. After install, the ride is just too stiff for my daily commuter. I have a fully built 80 I bought off Mud in 2013, a restored and modified 40 and a bone stock 55, so I have a good feel for what a built cruiser should feel like. I've been wheeling cruisers for over 20 years. After buying the 2000 100 w 95K, I thought I'd install a mild lift, 295s and sliders to make it fit my style. Added OME torsion bars, UCAs and diff drop from Slee. Holy cow. She's really stiff now. I'm told the stiffness is in the shocks (OME sport). Can anyone share what they did to get that sweet soft ride back. Much appreciated. FYI, I have other cruisers for designated trail work, but this 100 will see some trails and lots of travel, sometimes loaded. I'm told the adjustable shock is the way to go. Lots of the shock upgrades come at a steep cost, which I'll pay, but I need some solid advice from you folks before making a decision. Tired of spilling coffee on my first mile or 2 headed to work. Sad thing is that my 80 w 3 inch heavy OME rides w less jarring than my new commuter. Geeze! Thanks for any support you can offer

The rake is exactly 1" front to rear on both sides.....

Stop buying OME shocks. They suck. I had them on my 80 and was VERY unhappy with the harshness. I got some cheapie procomps that were 1/2 the price new and they ride much smoother. At times they are a tad too soft but 90+% of the time they are perfect. Don't know if procomp makes those for the 100. The Tiger shocks from TJM are also a HUGE improvement over the OME's. I ran some MX6 shocks a few years ago on my WJ and loved them.

image.jpg

OEM springs + 30mm spacer + cranked t-bars to match + new OEM shocks + air bags in back for loads and towing did the trick for me.