When replacing transfer to trans seal... (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

PabloCruise

SILVER Star
Threads
...I am wondering what to do with my parking brake?

It doesn't look like I am leaking at the parking brake.

I am filling from t-case to tranny.

So I am all ready to replace the seal, but wondering what to do about my parking brake cable?

Will it reach to the ground if I leave it all connected and just place t-case on the ground?

I wouldn't mind pulling the t-case out from under the 40 to check the vent and clean the schmeg off of it...

But, if it means having to disassemble and then reassemble parking brake, then might be worth leaving it in tact.

This is my first time doing this job. I know a lot of others on here have done it many times...

TIA,

I'm trying to remember but I think I disconnected mine at the firewall and dropped the case. I want to say that was easier.

Pulling the brake isn't too hard . Leaving it hooked up and dropping the case sounds like more of a pain to me.

You should disconnect it, either at the firewall or at the drum. Not difficult either way.

i just unbolt it and wedge it up on the crossmember, then drop the tcase.

in case you don't know...the seal goes in "backwards". so the flat section faces the inner portion of the tcase. i did it wrong once before i learned....never forgot that one.

nuclearlemon said:
i just unbolt it and wedge it up on the crossmember, then drop the tcase.

in case you don't know...the seal goes in "backwards". so the flat section faces the inner portion of the tcase. i did it wrong once before i learned....never forgot that one.

So the spring faces the transmixer?

Once I pull the drum, I should replace that seal on the back as well, correct?

PabloCruise said:
...I am wondering what to do with my parking brake?
It doesn't look like I am leaking at the parking brake.
I am filling from t-case to tranny.