What is this part under the glove box?

Joined
Nov 26, 2004
Messages
2,473
Location
Texas
While troubleshooting my A/C electrical, I saw this part (edit: the black, oval part on the underside of the metal part of the dash):

IMG_0682.jpg


It connects under the glove box like this (the factory connector):

IMG_0681.jpg


What is it?
 
Joined
Nov 26, 2004
Messages
2,473
Location
Texas
Never mind- I just remembered what it is- I even have the factory part for it in my glove box. I'll post a picture of it later in case I'm not the only idiot out there.
 

RockDoc

I'll take Bruce Vilanch for the block.
Joined
Jun 3, 2007
Messages
7,180
Location
SW MB CA
Outlet for an inspection or trouble light I believe. Spector used to have some, but I can't find them on their website now.
 
Joined
Jun 19, 2005
Messages
661
Location
Northern Colorado
Joined
Nov 26, 2004
Messages
2,473
Location
Texas
Now for a side question while I'm in there- anyone know how to troubleshoot the glove box light? I hot wired it to the drop light outlet and it worked fine, but it won't turn on when the glove box is opened. It looks like the switch to the glove box door is simple- I took it off and cleaned it up, but it still doesn't work. The fuse shares with the tail lights and side markers and it is fine. Any other ideas?
 

Dynosoar

Slightly Disturbed
SILVER Star
Joined
Feb 3, 2006
Messages
4,088
Location
SoCal
The glove box light only works with the headlights in the "ON" position.


Dynosoar:zilla:
 
Joined
Dec 5, 2006
Messages
980
Location
Vancouver BC
snip>>The glove box light only works with the headlights in the "ON" position>>snip


THAT has been driving me crazy! and what a simple solution... what would we do without this forum...
 
Joined
Nov 26, 2004
Messages
2,473
Location
Texas
This wasn't in my FSM- but I thought I would write up how to troubleshoot the glove box light if it isn't working. This needs to be on the top line in the FAQ.

If your glove box light isn't working:

1. Turn on headlights.
2. Open glove box.
3. Let there be light.:idea:



Dynosoar is a genius!!!
The glove box light only works with the headlights in the "ON" position.
Dynosoar:zilla:
 
Joined
Jan 27, 2008
Messages
82
Has anyone tried using this as a straight up plug in? Say for a... now I can't think of anything, but you get my drift right? Could it be used instead of a power inverter?
 

brownbear

Mod in Hibernation
Moderator
Joined
Sep 6, 2004
Messages
7,154
Location
North West Ontario
Has anyone tried using this as a straight up plug in? Say for a... now I can't think of anything, but you get my drift right? Could it be used instead of a power inverter?

It's 12 volt the power at the plug. So it is only good for 12 volt items. You could put small load items in there. Like GPS or something. But really where are you going to find the plug that fits it?

Well maybe a 120 volt standard plug fits it, I have never tried. But don't plug a 120 volt item in there. You will just blow the fuse.
 
Joined
Mar 19, 2006
Messages
574
Location
Fort Collins, CO
Cool Cruisers had some of these, too. That's where I got mine a year ago. OEM part.

My 1st gen 4Runner also has this plug, under the left side of the dash. Same light works there.
 
Joined
Jan 27, 2008
Messages
82
oh yeah..

Haha, good point on the voltage. You'd think I would have learned my lesson overseas plugging 120v into 240v and watching my appliances sizzle!
 
Joined
Mar 19, 2006
Messages
574
Location
Fort Collins, CO
Speaking of voltage, here's a somewhat related question about this socket.

Can I plug my cell phone AC charger into this and charge my phone? I don't have a car charger, but the wall plug would fit into the socket perfectly.

Would the DC/AC difference or the 12/120 voltage difference prevent it from working? Somebody school me, please.
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top Bottom