Tray Mountain Anyone? (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
I'm wondering if anyone in the Atlanta area is up for a trip to Tray Mountain on Sunday Oct. 7. Just a day trip for some wheeling and goofing off. If so, PM me.

Fantastic! You're the official guide since I've never been there. I'll bring refreshments. Have a snatch strap but no winch.Where's a good place to meet? I'm west of town so would be up your way 9ish.

There’s a very small chance I can make it. But if I don’t count me on the next meet up. Out of curiosity, whats the skill level for Tray mountain. Asking for a noob

I haven't been but I here from those who have that it ranges from easy to holy crap depending on which way you go in and how far you go. I'm not a total noob, but I don't have a rock crawler rig, so I'm careful about where I go.

This post is from a conversation with Craaaazzy about this trip.

Tray Mountain Road is north of Helen GA. Should be about an hour for you. I'd like to meet in Roswell and convoy since it's on the way for me. If I leave my house at 8:30, I should make it to Roswell by 9:15-9:30. I expect we'd be back in Roswell by 4 at the latest. That still leaves me the better part of an hour home. Do you have a CB radio? Needed for group comms. Let's switch to the 'Tray Mountain Anyone?' thread to loop in our fellow traveler.

Thanks CA2GA. It looks like from the Alpharetta/Roswell area, it's about 1hr 45min drive to the trail. So if leaving around 9:30, that would mean starting at the trail around 11. In order to be back by 4pm, it would only be about 3 hrs on the trail, is this reasonable or is more time needed? I'm a newb here so am not familiar at all...but am trying to schedule my time appropriately. If longer than 3 hrs on the trail, I may need to skip this ride.

so did more research...found this: Tray Mountain Forest Service Road