Total Newbie needs to ask questions (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hey Everyone, long time lurker here, so long I couldn't remember my password!! Anyway, I've been on the lookout for a truck/adventure rig the past year. I keep trolling here and Expedition Portal dreaming and scheming about a rig.

Needs - reliable (I'm NO mechanic) and a daily driver with good gas mileage. (I've been driving a 2005 Subbie since 2007, so spoiled in that arena)

I do some driving up and down the I5 corridor in the PacNorWest, mainly for outrigger canoe/SUP races. However, I'm also feeling the inclination to get back to my little coastal surf trips. Not that the Subbie can't handle that, I'm just looking for a little more room. "Why not get a wagon?" Good question. One I've thought over. Could still happen.

However, I've stumbled on a RHD 1992 Land Cruiser HDJ81 1-HDT motor. I have NO idea what I even typed right there. However, it looks really clean from the pics and video, the miles aren't posted in the ad, and owner says ",It has aftermarket suspension, drop links and panhard bars along with a stainless exhaust for the back 50% of the exhaust system."

Now what I need here is what should I be looking for or know about this era vehicle? Thank you all for patience!! Oh, is there are threads I should be looking at, then please fire those away because I KNOW there has to be some. I just have no idea where to look in here.

80 series 1hdt is factory turbo diesel motor. Great motor you need to see a if the big end bearings have been changed. As a recall or po has done it. Body rust oil leaks usual stuff when looking at any older vehicle. And make sure the engine has been serviced properly every 5000kms or close too