Roof Top Tent on Factory Roof Rack (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
I am looking at at 23 Zero tent that weighs 152 lbs for the factory roof rack. The rack is rated for dynamic 130 lbs. Have you had a roof top tent that exceeded the weight capacity and it was able to handle the weight?

i have a Mt Bachelor from CVT. i want to say its suppose to weigh about 125. and i had it on the factor roof rack when i drove from Colorado springs to Moab. it sat at camp while me and my wife took my Tacoma out wheeling. never had an issue. not sure though on anything that weighs more tho

I had our new Free Spirit High Country (162lbs) mounted briefly on the stock rack, although I added 2 additional stock crossbars.
Rails and bars handled it fine, but I felt better with 4 bars instead of 2. I only clamped the tent to 2 of the bars, but it made contact with all 4.
I have since gone with a Prinsu rack. Crossbars and rails could be for sale if any interest.

I had a Roofnest RTT on my factory bars. I used it on two trips then started having a strange rattle.

My factory cross bars had 2 cracked feet at opposing corners. Cracked clean through.

I bought a Prinsu rack and all is well. I certainly would not advocate using the factory rack after my experience.

I had a Roofnest RTT on my factory bars. I used it on two trips then started having a strange rattle.

My factory cross bars had 2 cracked feet at opposing corners. Cracked clean through.

I bought a Prinsu rack and all is well. I certainly would not advocate using the factory rack after my experience.
How much did your tent weigh or what model was it so I can check the weight?

I was running a sandpiper.

Claimed weight was 145#'s.

Of relevance that I forgot in my first post: I was running 5x 80/20 T-slot cross bars when my rack gave up the ghost at the feet.