Rear Pass Door Won't Open (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Website
nexusmetalwerx.com
Hey Guy's,

Anyone ever get "locked out" of just one door? My back pass door won't open for the life of it, the lock is unlocked. I can hear the lock move to lock and unlock. It would seem I can't get the interior door panel off with the door shut from the inside. This happened about a week ago and I was able to get in with a combo of pushing and pulling on the door. I hit up the actuator on the door with some tri-flow and thought I had it solved. No such luck.

I studied the other locks and noticed if you flip the lock to lock and the unlock nothing really flips, or moves on the edge of the door, its the pulling force when you pull the door that flips the lock back, so I'm thinking somewhere in the middle I have a disconnect.

Any ideas how to get into the door or break into it?

Thanks,

Matt

The door trim keeps you from popping the panel inwards, can't remove that trim unless the door is open as it runs under the door and over the sill lip....

I've had these panels off before, easy with the door open, not so with it frozen shut.

Thanks tho.

-A

I've gotten into the front with the door stuck closed. Not the whole panel off, but enough to get to the latch mechanism. I'll look at my rig tonight, but I find it hard to believe you couldn't do the same with the rear.

I mean c'mon: What are your options anyway?

You're not the first to have this problem. Broken spring in the door latch mechanism. Search 80s Tech for "latch rear door panel" and you'll see several threads, along with how to proceed to get it open.

You're not the first to have this problem. Broken spring in the door latch mechanism. Search 80s Tech for "latch rear door panel" and you'll see several threads, along with how to proceed to get it open.

Bingo:

Progress!