Rear drum removal-help (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
I'm trying to remove the rear brake drum and cannot get the wheel cylinder to back off. I'm just using a screwdriver, like I would on my GM's, but not having any luck.

What am I doing wrong........or what do I need to do right?

And yeah..........I'm a nubie to working on LC's!

Thanks..........

There are many threads here on this topic. Most all specify a BFH. (Big F#$%in' Hammer).
If you can;t get the wheel cylinder loose try and unbolt it from the rear then wack the s*** out of it with a big hammer. they can be tough to get loose but this is really the only way to get them free. I was lucky and only had one sticky drum... BFH and it was done.

I'm new with brakes too. I just got back from Less Schwab (tires and brakes, chain on West Coast) to inspect my FJ-55. He adjusted with a screwdriver.

The LC has two (2) wheel cylinders in each wheel. So, maybe if you didn't know that you have to "adjust" the star adjuster for each wheel to back it off or push them out -- I guess it is quite the "buggar" if you are a newbie like me to do.

I was lucky --- found that I had new cylinders (8 of them, 2/wheel), shoes, and master cylinder done 9 years ago, but the PO had not driven it so only had 800 miles on the brake job (done by Less Schwab -- they remembered the rig).

Hope this helps -- Also, Schwab does not charge for an inspection, and if they are not too busy, they will just do the adjustment for free. I had to pay $54 for the first adjustment, then it "braked" to the right. Took it back today (week later), they pulled the front drums, machined them, adjusted them and it is braking nicely with no pull. They have to spend some time to do it right --- didn't think $54 was too bad -- and I learned something by watching them.

Thanks.........a combination of loosening the cylinders and the BFH worked!