radio recommendation

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
I have tried to look through the forums here to answer my question but I start to glaze as I do when reading about something that I have absolutely no experience so I am going to ask directly- I would like a radio for my truck that would only be used in emergencies to call for medical help from remote areas on the Northern California coast, what is recommended for someone who hopefully will never use it, doesn't want to get licensed and has only minimal patience for electronic gadgetry? (And would prefer not to have a giant box on the dash with accompanying huge antenna. And also doesn't want to spend $500+ although I know the argument can be made that safety is worth the outlay.)

My concern is (believe it or not) severe shark attack while surfing or abalone diving. I have been doing both north of the GG for almost 20 years and now know of two cases of flukey cell phone service saving lives (one in the case of a severed femoral artery while surfing alone at one of my favorite spots). My cell phone is **** and I am starting to feel like my luck is being pushed, statistically at least. (I guess this is a by-product of growing older.)

I realize that I will likely never use such a radio (I met an old ab diver who probably has taken more abalone than anyone in the area over the last 40 years and he hasn't been bit... he'd seen quite a few that could have though.) but I have seen HUGE sharks from the beach on my way into the water and been very closely checked out while surfing by a juvenile as almost big as me and I am starting to feel like someone repeatedly compelled to stand in a field during a lightening storm. A radio would seem to be a prudent safety feature for the truck....

Or maybe a move.