Project 1964 FJ40 Build Thread (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

jomelo

SILVER Star
Threads
I just recently learned of the FJ25 group and the inclusion of “early” 40 models. I’m a newbie to the 40 series after owning a few 60’s, 70’s, 80’s and 200’s. I came across this late 1963 build, 1964 model FJ40 and figured it wasn’t too rough. I’m not sure of my general build direction so I may just spend some time getting organized. The hard top is in really decent condition. A prior owner did fabricate some type of fiberglass setup in the hardtop cap so he could install some speakers. This appears to have occurred circa 1980’s. I’m probably going to need to find another cap.

Oh and at some point a later model F engine was installed.

A989FB47-826D-49DC-B1B1-D2046148A39E.jpeg

It does have the original PTO winch in working condition. That’s pretty cool.

789D63AD-5B14-46B0-BF5C-D7D996E138D7.jpeg
8DB92D03-7AFC-48A7-877F-87A26B9943C9.jpeg

Anyone ever seen this type of setup? It’s a fuel carrier/rear tire carrier. It was mounted on the rear quarter panels. I originally thought it was some type of homemade setup but the build quality seems too nice for that. It is made to swingout so you can still open the rear doors.

DD35BDEA-1B96-488D-98BB-747892235072.jpeg

It appears the original color is something close to Spring Green. The prior owner recovered the seats in some cloth. Not really a big deal considering all the other items that need replacing.

B4E4F1B4-E8C8-47E2-AA67-B508DAC8BC59.jpeg

I also own a 1974 FJ40 that I was going to build. I’m pretty sure the wife will only let me get away with keeping one of them. I thought it would be the 74 model but this one is pretty cool.

kayline and conferr both made tire/can carriers like that.

kayline and conferr both made tire/can carriers like that.