Normal Noises?? (3 Viewers)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
I have a 2008 LC three weeks old that has 1200 miles on it. I am new to the LC world and have two noises that I was told by the dealer are normal:

1) Upon slow acceleration I hear and feel a subtle clunk at around 2-3 mph that seems to come from underneath the rear of the car. It occurs only some of the time. This sounds similar to what dtt255 posted a few weeks ago. Dealer didn't feel or hear anything abnormal. Any more thoughts?

2) Braking is accompanied by a hissing sound that occurs usually when first applying the pedal; it usually does not occur upon pumping the pedal a second or third time. The brakes seem to otherwise function normally. Have never heard this sort of sound on any of my other vehicles (including my wife's FJ Cruiser), but the dealer assures me this is a normal LC braking sound.

I am a bit paranoid: I have gone through hell and back with multiple problems with a 2004 VW Touareg the last three years. I came over to Toyota because of its excellent rep for reliability. Hopefully I am just being oversensitive with these LC noises. Appreciate hearing from some more experienced voices.

Can sympathise with the VW experience. Been there done that.

Toyota's are usually 100%.

I have a new 200 series, am very fussy and will pick up on the slightest fault, but in 4500 km so far it's faultless. I've not noticed either of the items you've noted but both sound plausible.

I do have what I'd call a click rather than clunk from the rear underneath only when first pulling away after startup. I believe that is traction control or some such thing setting itself up.

The brakes are superb and I've never needed to pump the pedal.

I have a 2008 LC three weeks old that has 1200 miles on it. I am new to the LC world and have two noises that I was told by the dealer are normal: