Noob here. TRD questions. (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Getting an 08 or 09 Crew Shortbed with an eye toward overlanding in the future. My question is... TRD? If so, OR? The OR's seem to be hard to find. If I plan on building it up over a year or two does it matter? Any advice/help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance, you guys are awesome!

My wife and I just bought our '09 DCSB 4x4 (Not a TRD) last year and are super happy with it so far. We are doing the whole overlanding thing as well (Slowly but surely. It's the Red Devil thread). I would have liked a few of the features the TRD has but as long it was a 4x4 I could deal without having the rest of the options. With that said I'm not super worried about the locker. We don't plan on doing super hard stuff at this point but if you are then it would be a great option to get.

Although my Tacoma is a TRD model with the Bilstein suspension and a rear E-locker I think a good argument can be made for buying a standard spec 4wd Tacoma and carefully building it with aftermarket suspension and an aftermarket selectable locking diff.

The TRD Bilstein suspension works great on rough dirt roads at speed. The E-locker works good, but the engagement system sucks (I'm sure it was mandated by a corporate liability lawyer.)

I say a "careful" build because there are lots of "off road kits" out there, but very few professionally designed suspension systems designed for high speed rough road driving. Installing a selectable differential like the Air Locker wired so you can control when to engage it would be great.

Regards,

Alan

Although my Tacoma is a TRD model with the Bilstein suspension and a rear E-locker I think a good argument can be made for buying a standard spec 4wd Tacoma and carefully building it with aftermarket suspension and an aftermarket selectable locking diff.