Newbie's Knuckle Question (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
I have my 1996 FZJ80 for a year now, but only have been driving it for the last 6 months for around 5,000 miles. It is still a new to me truck and I am still learning to run and maintain it correctly.

My front end developed a noise last night. When I was driving at parking lot speed and turn, 8 out 10 times, there were faint clunking noise from the right front. This morning I jacked up front wheels, and felt movement when I held wheels/tires at 12 and 6 o'clock positions. There was no movement if I held at 3 and 9 o'clock positions. Both side felt about the same as the right/noisy side did not have significant more movement.

My service records show knuckle service a few years ago but no indication if knuckle bearings were replaced. So I am guessing my knuckle bearings need replacement.

Is my above diagnosis reasonable? Is there other check I should do before I tear my knuckles apart?

Assuming I need to overhaul my knuckles using ready made kit (i.e. Marlin Crawler, ...), what other items/service should I perform while I am in there? Wheel bearings, birfield joints, ...?

Thanks in advance for all comments.

If you get play with the wheel held vertically that is normally indicating play/problems with the wheel bearings. If you get play with the wheel held diagonally that will normally indicate play or problems with the kingpin/knuckle bearings.

If you have maintained the grease in the swivel hubs as much as possible (noting it is almost impossible to grease the top kingpin/knuckle bearing without disassembly of the hubs) jack up and support the front axle and double check the freeplay you feel with both front wheels off the ground.