Newbie here, checkin in (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hi all!!! Been lurking the site for the last couple of weeks getting ideas and tips on my dad and I's project. We have a 1974 FJ40 that we received as payment for a construction job. Basically we're redoing everything! and keeping it as cheap as possible (painting and refurbishing everything that is salvagable). There's no rust at all and is in pretty decent shape. Not at the moment though, because we took everything off and am starting from the ground up. So far we've coated the frame, put a new 4" OME lift on, re-did all the brakes with new stuff, Skyjacker shocks, just started wiring a new painless wiring harness. We're beginning to paint the whole thing piece by piece: so far the hood,emblems,bumpers,grille have been painted. We're in the process of rolling on a herculiner on the inside floor and also the rollcage. We're not sure about what seats are going to go in yet because we chucked the old seats that were no good, but kept the frames, don't worry. The engine, tranny, transfer case, and driveshaft are out right now and I'm pretty sure we're going to stick with the 2F engine and just go down to specter offroad and drop off the old and pick up the new. While they were out we also powerwashed and painted the engine bay. Now...wheels/tires. Right now we just painted the white steel wheels that were on there when we got it black and got some used 33's. Since the truck isn't moving we didn't get anything special yet. The plan so far is to get the cragar soft 8's and runs some super swamper tsl's or tsl radials. Being very new to this scene, are there any weak points that we should take care of while we're into this? Also, the 74 has different turn signals then say a 78, are the 78's compattible on our 74? I like the way they look compared to the ones we have. Thanks.