KZJ78 won´t start (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
hi All,

newbie here from overseas, Austria.

I own a 1995 Prado KZJ78 since 2012 and went through a lot...

just now bad luck stroke again.

had the car sitting in driveway for four weeks, it´s still winter and cold temps around freezing point. car started at first turn! that´s just how it is supposed to be, altough i had to remove the preheater on the filter some time ago...but i usually don´t use it a lot during winter as I want to keep it away from salt as good as possible. just moved the car for about 50 meters.

same day, few hours later it won´t start again. it gets no fuel. engine turning strong but no fumes at all, nothing. it starts up with starting agent but dies right after.

when turning ignition on neither glow plug light or check engine light would turn on.

checked the following by now:

all fuses ok
took out ECU and checked electronic board for any signs of bad capacitors etc, looks very clean (did not do an actual electronics test)
glow plug relay working but no power to the rail

took out the two main relays of engine. both are working but there is only power on one loom. t
one is on a grey plug the other on a black plug.
switched the relais and both are klicking with ignition on if connected to the grey plug. on the black plug neither of them. so, what is this circuit, where does it come from?
I have found the wiring diagram but it doesn´t tell me the colours of plugs :)
any help appreciated.
thanks
Pete

When was the last time you changed your fuel filter?

After sitting for awhile, did you "prime" the fuel line?

There is a black rubber primer button above the fuel filter, push on it 10 to 15 times to draw fuel from the tank.

hi Joe, thanks, but for sure that has been checked. has been exhanged recently.
car started in the morning just fine.