Inserted HID fog lights in stock bumper, on the cheap! (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
HID%20bumper%20inserts
I thought this might be interesting to some so here it goes, total cost was about $100 for the lights.

Picked up a set of these off ebay $39.99 shipped

MK1 UNIVERSAL FIT PROJECTOR FOG LIGHTS HID KIT READY

ebaylight.jpg

Also picked up an HID kit $62.99 shipped

HID Xenon Slim Ballast Kit H1 H3 H4 H7 H9 H11 9006 9007

The fog lights come with an H3 bulb which is not very bright, the hid made a huge difference. The cut off looks pretty sharp but am not an expert on projector lenses by any means, this is my first attempt at using them. The housing needs to have a hole drilled in the back for the ballast wiring to enter, a one inch step bit worked great for me.
drill2.jpg

drill.jpg

Pull out the H3 halogen and insert the H3 HID, may need to bend the clip a bit that holds the bulb in.
h3fit.jpg

hidfit.jpg

I used crimp connectors fir the negative feed, the positive spade connectors were fine the way they came.
connectpower.jpg

Now you should have something like this
readyforinstall2.jpg

readyforinstall.jpg

Now for the inserts, this is what i came up with for the mounts that came with the lights.

I had to grind down the bolt that came with the mounting kit in order to center the light inside the 2 1/2" muffler pipe I scored at the local shop, thanks guys:hillbilly:

groundmountbolt.jpg

lightmount.jpg

lightmount3.jpg

lightmount2.jpg

With that all worked out it was time to cut some holes in the bumper. TBC, I posted too many pics i guess:meh:

measure1.jpg

measure2.jpg

after trashing one hole saw
dullbit2.jpg

I opted for another route
helperholes.jpg

finishedhole.jpg

afterholes.jpg

After taking the bumper off and grinding the holes a bit to fit the inserts i tacked them in. These pics may not be in order:meh:
bumperweld.jpg

bumperweld2.jpg