How to fix the VSC, TRAC OFF, Check engine, and the skid lights (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Team,

I know there are utube videos on this and how to fix. I wanted to post my experience.

1 Purchased a OEM gas cap to replace the old one per suggestions. Drove 79 miles and lights were still on.

2. decided to remove all air in gas tank. I filled my gas tank to the rim, literally.......

3. reset the mileage and drove exactly 25 miles.

4. lights went out.

5. My conclusion is removing all air in the lines and tank may have helped reset the sytem somehow, I am not a mechanic but did sleep at holiday inn last night...

It'll come back on. Mine does it because of p420 p430 codes. I'm gonna try the o2 spacer trick and maybe new oxygen sensors. Done ran CAT cleaner.

Team,

I know there are utube videos on this and how to fix. I wanted to post my experience.

1 Purchased a OEM gas cap to replace the old one per suggestions. Drove 79 miles and lights were still on.

2. decided to remove all air in gas tank. I filled my gas tank to the rim, literally.......

3. reset the mileage and drove exactly 25 miles.

4. lights went out.

5. My conclusion is removing all air in the lines and tank may have helped reset the sytem somehow, I am not a mechanic but did sleep at holiday inn last night...
ANY check engine light situation will light up ALL of said lights.

Don't fill your tank to the rim, raw fuel will enter your charcoal filter and ruin it, causing yet another CEL to deal with.

Get a code reader to see what the problem is. Your solution is comparable to just putting some tape over the lights so you don't see them. Could be emissions issue like Mattdamnit has, could need a zero point calibration, or a host of other things.

Thanks guys,

I have the 2 P codes as well when I ran the OBD. My mechanic said start with the Valve Assembly vacuum Switching AKA Purge Valve