fj62 cooling fan

Joined
Mar 16, 2008
Messages
38
Location
oregon
Visit site
there's a cooling fan on the fj62 that still runs after you turn the vehicle off. anyone know how many amps it draws? I'd like to use one for another project and i need to get a resistor/fuse, but dont know what size.
 

RockDoc

I'll take Bruce Vilanch for the block.
Joined
Jun 3, 2007
Messages
7,180
Location
SW MB CA
Visit site
I bet you'll have to rig it up with an ammeter and some jumper wires to find out. I doubt this is something anyone has looked into.
 

Ming89FJ62

Pig farmer extraordinaire
GOLD Star
Joined
Jul 31, 2002
Messages
1,668
Location
Palatine, IL
Visit site
The carb cooling fan has two circuits. The power for the fan comes from the ignition circuit (15 amp) while the control circuit has a 5 amp fuse. At least that's how the 55 is set up.
 

btaylorsacto

SILVER Star
Joined
Jul 1, 2009
Messages
118
Location
Sacramento, CA
Visit site
The cooling fan on my FJ62 never runs. The PO says that it only runs if the engine gets REALLY hoe, but I'm wondering about that. When is it supposed to run? If mine isn't functioning correctly, what are the best trouble-shooting steps take? (I'm basically familiar with auto electric circuts and have digitla and analog multi-meters). Thanks! Bill
 
Joined
Sep 28, 2004
Messages
2,125
Location
Spokane, WA
Visit site
The cooling fan on my FJ62 never runs. The PO says that it only runs if the engine gets REALLY hoe, but I'm wondering about that. When is it supposed to run? If mine isn't functioning correctly, what are the best trouble-shooting steps take? (I'm basically familiar with auto electric circuts and have digitla and analog multi-meters). Thanks! Bill

Take it out?

You don't really need it on an FJ62. Mines been out for some time now.
 

btaylorsacto

SILVER Star
Joined
Jul 1, 2009
Messages
118
Location
Sacramento, CA
Visit site
I dunno. Gets pretty hot under the hood after I turn the engine off. Especially here in Sacramento in the summer! I wonder why Toyota kept in on the FJ62 ??? I would think that they would want to save on the cost of the components if they didn't feel that there was a reason for it...
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top Bottom