Excessive engine/gearbox movement (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hi Team,

this is my first thread in this forum so please be gentle if I may have missed a thread that deals with my issues already. I have been soaking up all the very valid information on this forum far a long time and have found great help so far.
However for the issue that I am dealing with atm I am struggling to find specific information hence why I start this thread.

I own a 1995 VX Limited 24V 1HDFT Auto A442F Jap import. I live in New Zealand and are a mechanic by trade ( just to outline that I am mechanically minded 🙄😁)

My issue:

When driving and slowing down for an intersection and coming to a full stop ( gentle but constant braking till full stop ) I keep my foot pressed on the brake pedal. When I lift my foot of the brake to take off again I then feel this very hard forward knock in the auto gear lever. Same scenario knock can also be caused when coming to a full stop and changing into neutral rather then taking the foot of the brake, gear lever will then again knock forward.
The knock can be felt going through the entire vehicle and is very harsh and concerning.

Same knock can be felt when driving under slight acceleration when shifting from 1-2 nd gear or when downshifting from 3rd OD into 3rd under acceleration.
This knock is a very harsh and hard knock that is as mentioned above very concerning and does not feel normal or to be tolerated.

Things I have checked so far:

- Adjusted line pressure correctly as per FSM, no flaring between gears. Trans shifts fine under full acceleration or when coasting through the gears.
- changed trans fluid
- checked gearbox mount ( removed it and checked for cracks or separation) OK