Diff lock question from a noob (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hey all!

Just bought myself a 97' FJ 80 in desert dune :) Been wanting to buy one of these for years and found a killer deal on one. I am new to off road vehicles and know what diff locks do essentially, but don't know the difference between 1x,2x,3x lockers etc.

My real question is I want to know if mine has lockers. The seller said it does and I googled the vin and the toyota factory specs say "COUPLING CENTER DIFFERENTIAL FR & RR"

Does this mean my cruiser has lockers? And if so, what kind are they?

Look for a switch on the panel left to the steering wheel. Twist knob. FR RR

Also panel on door post will have info. 294 means locker, 292 Small silver plaque with weight and build info.

A/TM K294/A343F locker
A/TM k292/a343f no locker

Last edited:
I have to pick truck up in Denver, my dad picked it up for me. So I guess my question is, without being able to see the car for another two weeks, the factory specs from searching the VIN on Toyota's website say "COUPLING CENTER DIFFERENTIAL FR & RR"

So with that in mind, unless they were somehow removed, does that mean that my cruiser should have factory lockers?

Only ~7% of US market trucks got diff lockers. They're rare, but that doesn't mean yours doesn't have them. I'm not aware of a way to have the VIN tell you if you do or do not have them. The door sticker that @REKCUT mentioned tells you definitively what axles it had when it left the factory. If you need the info urgently, I suggest having someone photograph that sticker and send the photo to you. As for the switch he referenced, it SHOULD indicate what you have; however, there are nefarious people out there that will put a switch in K292 trucks to dupe buyers.