CB tuning help

Joined
Nov 28, 2009
Messages
693
Location
South Mississippi
Visit site
I just installed my Cobra 75 with a Midland window mount antenna. I am going to buy a SWR meter tomorrow from Radio Shack but I have no clue how to use it.

Also is an SWR meter required to be constantly hooked up or do I just use it to tune the antenna and put it away?
 

dnp

Supporting Vendor
SILVER Star
Joined
May 2, 2004
Messages
5,639
Location
Jackson, MS
Visit site
I just installed my Cobra 75 with a Midland window mount antenna. I am going to buy a SWR meter tomorrow from Radio Shack but I have no clue how to use it.

Also is an SWR meter required to be constantly hooked up or do I just use it to tune the antenna and put it away?
From the CB days of old (HOLY COW, has it really been 35 effin years???), I recall that an SWR meter is just used to tune the antenna. Things may have changed, but that's what I remember.......
 
Joined
Jun 11, 2004
Messages
3,096
Location
Copperhead Rd.
Visit site
Do a quick search on cb install and tuning. It's really easy to do both right and wrong. Your window mount antenna is probably not "tunable" but your placement on vehicle and routing of the coax to the antenna are just as important.

If you have too much coax, don't wind it up in a nice little neat coil under your seat. Instead route it in such a way to use up the extra length.
 
Joined
Nov 28, 2009
Messages
693
Location
South Mississippi
Visit site
The antenna came with a tool which is used to turn a tiny screw on the inside part of the window to adjust it when using an SWR meter.

I did wind up with about half a foot that I couldn't find anything to do with but I ran it front to back in parallel to each other under the seat instead of coiling it...would that be better than coiling it up?
 
Joined
Jul 23, 2004
Messages
12,574
Location
Valley of the Heroes
Visit site
I did wind up with about half a foot that I couldn't find anything to do with but I ran it front to back in parallel to each other under the seat instead of coiling it...would that be better than coiling it up?

Actually... I've always heard to coil spare cable and not make it oblong shape if there happens to be extra... but then... I've NEVER had a CB work properly.
Me thinks there should be a CB app for iPhones....
 
Joined
Jun 11, 2004
Messages
3,096
Location
Copperhead Rd.
Visit site
I wouldn't want it to overlap at all but that's better than a coil. I would rather run it around the perimeter of the interior of your truck and just tuck it under the carpet.

i.e., If you want to mount the antenna on the back bumper then run the coax down the edge of the floor on the driver side then across the back and up the edge of the floor on passenger. Then drill a hole in the floor (use a grommet) and run it to the back bumper underneath the truck, carefull not to pinch or kink the cable along the way.

Oh, and be prepared to be called something else other than "Shunt" if you decide to talk to truckers.
 
Joined
Jun 11, 2004
Messages
3,096
Location
Copperhead Rd.
Visit site
I did wind up with about half a foot that I couldn't find anything to do with but I ran it front to back in parallel to each other under the seat instead of coiling it...would that be better than coiling it up?

Parallel is fine but I would space out the runs by about 6-8"s.

Which is another thing that you can do Shunt. Drape the cable parallel with the dash with proper spacing to use up all slack all the way to the back.
 
Joined
Nov 28, 2009
Messages
693
Location
South Mississippi
Visit site
Oh, and be prepared to be called something else other than "Shunt" if you decide to talk to truckers.

I live about 200 yards from I-10 and today while working on the wiring I was hearing 2 truckers give it to some guy who was messing with them on the radio.

CB's are like early internet...everyone is a badass on them.
 
Last edited:

Users who are viewing this thread

Top Bottom